Sparling Harambee Starlets Have a Mountain to Climb against African giants

The draw for the 11th edition of the 2018 Total African Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) was held at the Movenpick Ambassador Hotel in Accra on Sunday, October 21, 2018.

The draw was witnessed by CAF Boss Ahmad Ahmad, Deputy General Secretary, Anthony Baffoe, Ghana’s Youth and Sports Minister, Isaac Asiamah, Local Organising Committee (LOC) chairperson, Hon Freda Prempeh, Normalisation Committee President Dr. Kofi Amoah, representative of the eight participating teams and other football luminaries.

Group A features host, Ghana, 2016 host Cameroon, Mali and Algeria.

Eight-time champions, Nigeria have been placed in Group B with South Africa, Zambia and Kenya who qualified following the disqualification of Equatorial Guinea for fielding an ineligible player.

This edition, held in the West African nation for the first time, also serves as the qualifiers to the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The top three teams will qualify for the World Cup to be staged in France in June next year.

The two-week tournament will hold from November 17 to December 1, 2018 and will be played across two cities – Accra and Cape Coast.

Here’s how the two groups of AWCON 2018 look:

Group A:





Group B:


South Africa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *