Police Officers Accused of Assaulting Raila’s Cousin Released

Four police officers accused of assaulting ODM leader Raila Odinga’s cousin Jakoyo Midiwo have been released on bond.

The four officers identified as Corporal Violet Nyaga of Railways police station, Constables Geoffrey Wachira of Kisumu Central Police Station, Jeph Ochieng’ of Kondele Police Station and Dennis Mutua of CIPU Kisumu Central were arraigned before a Magistrate in Kisumu.

Police officers arrested during a past operation. PHOTO: Courtesy

The four are part of a group of five who former Gem MP Midiwo alleged to have had forcefully gained access to his home.

According to Midiwo, the police officers kicked and slapped him severally before throwing him into a police cell for three hours.

This was after he responded to a call by his driver at around 2 am when the cops entered his Kisumu home.

According to the former MP, the cops brutally beat his driver and only left him after he intervened.

The case will be heard on the 31st of March after additional charges of stealing the victim’s phone were added to the four police officers.


One thought on “Police Officers Accused of Assaulting Raila’s Cousin Released

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *