DP Ruto Spotted in Kiambu Moments After New Governor Was Sworn in

Deputy President William Ruto was on Friday spotted in Kiambu moments after the new governor James Nyoro was sworn in as the third governor of the county under the new constitution.

In a rather interesting and unexpected turn of events, the second in command was seen sharing a light moment with an icecream and sweets hawker in Thika town Kiambu county.

Deputy President William Ruto interacting with a hawker in Kiambu

His impromptu visit was rather unexpected as the former Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu was a strong supporter of the deputy president before he was impeached by the Senate on Wednesday.

Dennis Itumbi who has publicly declared to be part of the Tanga tanga group allied to Ruto even went ahead to give a message of hope to the impeached governor.

“To my friend, Mr Waititu, Politics should never defeat the Law. You are in my prayers and I must add, it is not over yet… Keep fighting. Keep seeking Justice. It shall be well.” He said.

In the impeachment hearing for former Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu at the Senate on Wednesday, January 29, only twelve senators voted to keep Waititu in power.

The voting, that was indicatively split on the Kieleweke-Tangatanga divide, was preceded by a heated debate with Elgeyo-Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen urging the house to spare Waititu and Siaya Senator James Orengo appearing to question the legality of the process.

In solidarity, the twelve Tanga tanga senators voted to save Waititu which however did not go through as 28 voted against.

Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei, Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Mithika Linturi (Meru), Moses Wetangula (Bungoma), Susan Kihika (Nakuru) and Lamu’s Anwar Loitiptip voted to retain Waititu at the helm of Kiambu County.

Others in the list were John Kinyua (Laikipia), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Hargura Godana (Marsabit), Christopher Langat (Bomet), Millicent Omanga (Nominated) and Mary Seneta (Nominated).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *