How Senator Mwaura Destroyed Murkomen’s Plan to Save Waititu From Impeachment

Nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura was not a busybody during the Senate assembly special seating convened to deliberate Waititu’s impeachment debacle.

On Monday evening, the Senator took to social media to express fears over what he termed as a plot by six senators to save embattled Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu from the jaws of the impeachment motion pitting him.

A collage of Senators Isaac Nwaura and Kipchumba Murkomen.

“The senate list to impeach WAITITU as Kiambu Gov is rigged to save him. The speaker refused to recall the senate within 7 days to create a technicality.

We go the plenary way. 6 senators cannot be used to defeat the will of the people of Kiambu,” tweeted Mwaura.

The remarks came after a proposal was presented by Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen to have Waititu’s impeachment case be handled by a select committee who will investigate the matter and present it’s findings to the assembly.

The proposal by Murkomen came under rabid criticism with Senator Mwaura leading on the forefront in trashing the Elgeyo Marakwet Senator’s proposal.

“I really want to say, that personally when I look at the process and the manner in which this matter has come to the house already because we have already been told that we are guided by the lawyer and we have seen the CVs of members being displayed here.

“Personally I am very worried, is am extremely worried about the meritocracy that was used…What made that we are not called on time the issues that have been raised by the Kiambu people have not been canvassed, are we setting the ground for the impeachment to fail,” said Mwaura.

Murkomen had proposed an 11 member committee led by Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala, Chairman, and Nakuru’s Susan Kihika, vice Chairman.

Other Members of the Committee were senators Sylvia Kasanga (Nominated), Mohamed Faki (Mombasa), Okong’o Mogeni (Nyamira), Fredrick Outa (Kisumu), Hargura Godana (Marsabit), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Anuar Oloitiptip (Lamu), Mithika Linturi (Meru) and Iman Falhada (Nominated).

Speaker Kenneth Lusaka will later set a date for the House proceedings to discuss Waititu’s fate

Governor Waititu was impeached on December 19, 2019, after 63 members of the Kiambu County Assembly voted in favour of his ouster as 28 failed to attend the session with one vote being cast against the impeachment.

The impeachment motion was filed by Ndenderu MCA Solomon Kinuthia who accused the Governor of engaging in abuse of office and corruption.

The impeachment happened at a time when the embattled governor was barred from accessing office and even performing certain key functions of his office leaving his Deputy James Nyoro in charge of the county affairs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *