Sweden Based Midfielder Named In Harambee Stars Squad for CECAFA Tournament

Harambee Stars head coach Francis Kimanzi has named his provisional squad for the upcoming Cecafa Senior Championships. The coach has named former Bandari midfielder Anthony Ambani who currently features for Swedish side Vasalunds IF.

Harambee Stars provisional squad for CECAFA Senior Championships named

CECAFA U20 Championships’ best Goalkeeper Brian Bwire has also been called up and will have to fight for a place against Ulinzi Stars’ Timothy Odhiambo, who was named October’s SJAK player of the month.

AFC Leopards striker John Mark Makwatta who tops the scoring charts in the league has also been named along with his club teammate Whyvonne Isuza. Gor Mahia captain Kenneth Muguna is also in the squad as is midfielder Lawrence Juma and defender Joash Onyango.

Harambee Stars pooled in Group C of upcoming CECAFA Senior Championships

The team reports to camp on Monday, December 2, 2019, ahead of the regional showpiece, set to be played between December 7, and December 19, 2019, in Uganda.

Kenya has been pooled in Group C alongside Tanzania, Djibouti, and Zanzibar, and will be looking to defend the title they won in December 2017, in Machakos.

Group A is comprised of hosts Uganda, Burundi, Ethiopia, and Eritrea, while Group B will pit guest team DR Congo against Sudan, South Sudan, and Somalia.

Image result for Joash Onyango Harambee Stars

The top two teams in each group, as well as two best losers from the three groups, will proceed to the tournament’s quarterfinal.

Provisional Squad


Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Suleiman Ngotho (Posta Rangers), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Hillary Wandera (Tusker), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United) Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks)


Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds IF), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Musa Masika (Wazito), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia), Reagan Otieno (KCB), Luke Namanda (Tusker), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Kevin Kimani (Mathare United), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia)


Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars), Benson Omala (Western Stima), Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars), John Mark Makwatta (AFC Leopards)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *