40 Mt Kenya MPs Supporting DP Ruto meet Over BBI

40 Mt Kenya Members of Parliament (MPs) allied to Deputy President William Ruto met in Embu town on Saturday to discuss the way forward on Building Bridges Initiative (BBI).

Among those who were present include Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Mwangi Kiunjuri, Moses Kuria (Gatundu South) Ndindi Nyoro (Kiharu), Kimani Ichungwa (Kikuyu), Rigithi Gachagua (Mathira), and Susan Kihika (Senator Nakuru County).

Some of the Mt Kenya leaders who met in Embu on Saturday to discuss the BBI report [Photo, Courtesy]
Other notables include Mithika Linturi (Senator Meru County) Alice Wahome (Kandara Constituency), Cecily Mbarire (Nominated), Kimani Ngunjiri (Bahati MP), Jayne Kihara (Naivasha), Rahim Dawood (North Imenti) and Kathuri Murungi (South Imenti).

Apart from the BBI, the MPs will embark on economic rallies across the Mt Kenya region.

The meeting by the MPs comes barely a few weeks after the Sagana State Lodge meeting that saw President Uhuru Kenyatta meet with over 3,000 leaders in the area.

However, Tanga Tanga MPs expressed dissatisfaction with the way the meeting was organised. They also lamented that it failed to address issues affecting the region and vowed to organise a different one.

Meanwhile, 10 Central Kenya MPs who support the handshake on Friday announced that they have formed a parliamentary caucus to lobby on issues affecting the region that were raised during the Sagana meeting.

The 10 MPs include Ngunjiri Wambugu (Nyeri), Gathoni Wamuchomba (Woman Rep Kiambu), Mercy Gakuya (Kasarani), Paul Koinange (Kiambaa), and Ruth Mwaniki (Kigumo),

Others include Muturi Kigano (Kangema), Maoka Maore (Igembe North) Peter Mwathi (Limuru), Peter Kimari (Mathioya) and Ngugi Nduati (Gatanga).

They disclosed they would lobby to help improve agribusiness in the region, pressure the government to pay suppliers from the area and propose strategies to enhance small businesses.

Full List of MPs Who Attended The Embu Meeting

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *