Imran Takes an Early Lead in Kibra By-election

ODM candidate in the Kibra by-election, Imran Okoth, has taken an early lead in the Kibra by-election having garnered 3503 votes as at the tally by Thursday 10: 30 PM.

His jubilee counterpart McDonald Mariga is the 1st runner up with a total of 1248 votes so far.

Amani National Congress candidate Eliud Owalo was third with 773 votes.

This is per the provisional results issued by IEBC Officer Beatrice Muli at the tallying centre as the counting is still in process.

Raila Odinga endorsing Imran Okoth for Kibra candidacy: PHOTO COURTESY

The ODM party officials sensed an early win and have since shared the results of the election on their social media platforms.

The party has also taken over the responsibility of declaring its candidate as the incoming Kibra Member of parliament.

As at the time of publishing this article, ODM’s Secretary General Edwin Sifuna had issued the tally below.

According to Sifuna, this was the total results of 180 polling stations out of the total 183 stations.

Contrary to this, the IEBC is the only body that has the mandate to declare the elections results after getting a complete tally of all the polling stations.

The MP-elect will take over the parliamentary position from the late Ken Okoth who succumbed to colorectal cancer on July 26, 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *