AFCON; Harambee Stars intensify training ahead of Sunday clash

The Kenya national football team, Harambee Stars have intensified their training in Egypt on Thursday two days after landing from France where they had been camping for the past three weeks in readiness for AFCON.

The side continued in their intensified training for the second day in a row as they prepare for their first match of the tournament that will be played on Sunday 23rd against Algeria in the 30 June Stadium also known as the Air Defence Stadium where the Group C matches will be staged.

The Stars French tactician, Sébastien Migné has radiated optimism that his boys will do well as displayed in their two pre-Afcon friendlies and asked Kenyans to support the team.

Stars will have to put their best foot forward on Sunday in their clash with the Desert Warriors (Algeria) a match they need to win to increase their chances of qualifying to the last 16, quarterfinals.

Kashiwa Reysol’s forward, ‘Engineer’ Michael Olunga, who plays for the side in the Japanese League will lead the line for Kenya as China-based Ayub Timbe looks to provide some attacking dynamism for the national team.

Kenya is pooled in group C alongside Algeria, Tanzania and Senegal and their first match will be against Algeria on Sunday 23rd June. They will then play neighbours Tanzania on 27th June before ending their group assignments on 1st July against Sadio Mane led Senegal.

The team got a courtesy visit from veteran politician Raila Odinga alongside Devolution Cabinet secretary Eugene Wamalwa at the venue that will be the teams for at least the next 10 days who passed the President’s goodwill message to the team.

The two engaged in a photo session with the team and posted pictures with head coach Sebastian Migne and Captain Victor Wanyama.

Goalkeepers; 18. Patrick Matasi, 1. Faruk Shikalo, 23. John Oyemba.

Defenders; 5. Musa Mohamed,20. Philemon Otieno,  3. Abud Omar, 13. Eric Ouma, 4. Joash Onyango, 15. David Owino, 6. Bernard Ochieng.

Midfielders; 12. Victor Wanyama, 21. Dennis Odhiambo, 17. Ismael Gonzalez, 10. Eric Johanna, 2. Joseph Okumu, 19. Ovella Ochieng, 11. Francis Kahata, 7. Ayub Timbe, 8. Johanna Omollo, 16. Paul Were.

Forwards; 14. Michael Olunga 9. John Avire, 22. Masud Juma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *