City are Champions! Citizens see off Brighton to seal second successive PL title

Tokeo la picha la Manchester city champions

Manchester City has won their 4th Premier League title and their 5th  English first division title after a commanding 4-1 win over Brighton on Sunday. All they needed was a win on the last day of the season and they would pip Liverpool who only lost one league match all season.

Liverpool also needed a win in their last match against Wolves, which they did via a Sadio Mane double at Anfield but will have to settle for second place. The victory meant that Manchester City has the league with 98 points, only 2 shy of the 100 they won it with last season.

Tokeo la picha la Aguero goal

The day started on the worst note possible for Pep Guardiola’s men as Brighton went ahead through a Glenn Murray header in the first half but Sergio Aguero leveled matters 81seconds later with a left-foot shot. The champions score again minutes before half time through Aymeric Laporte’s thumping header from a David Silva corner. Manchester City went into the break leading 2-1.

The second half was more of putting gloss into the victory which was sensationally done by Algerian winger RiyadMahrez who left the Brighton defenders on the floor before blasting the ball into the net for City’s third. Iker Gundogan added a 4th late on following a nice team move.

Tokeo la picha la pep guardiola

It is Manchester City’s 4th title in 8 years and Pep Guardiola’s 5th in 6 years. They can still win a domestic treble when they face Watford in the FA Cup final next Saturday having already won the Carabao cup in February.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *