Heaven Gates To Open in Muranga as 132 MPs Join Ruto For a Mega Prayer Session


In what appears to be a defiant political stand and show of might by politicians allied to William Ruto, more than 100 legislators have signed up to attend an inter-denominational prayer rally in Murang’a on Saturday, to which the Deputy President has been invited as chief guest.

The prayers, cancelled at the last minute two weeks ago, drew criticism from the anti-Ruto group, with the nominated MP Maina Kamanda-led Kieleweke team accusing the organisers of hiding behind the church to dabble in politics.

Kamanda’s team accuses Ruto’s Tanga Tanga group of putting the country on an election mode and defying President Uhuru Kenyatta’s advice to tone down politics for the sake of development.

And yesterday evening, Ruto’s office denied knowledge of the planned prayer rally, but hastened to add that even if it is on, the DP was not involved in its planning.


“I have been saying this since two days ago that we are not involved in the planning of prayer meeting or rally in Murang’a. I am not aware of any such meeting,” Ruto’s spokesman David Mugonyi said.

Organisers say the prayer rally will be presided over by 15 clerics from the region. It was initially meant to be a Central Kenya affair, but the organisers said they had decided to extend invitations to “friendly colleagues” to give it a national outlook and preach unity among Kenyans.

A list seen had signatures of 132 MPs, who are supporting Ruto’s 2022 State House bid. They are said to have confirmed their attendance at the meeting to be held at Kimorori Trading Centre in Kenol, Murang’a county. Members of the County Assembly have also been invited.


Among those in the list are; National Assembly Majority Leader Adan Duale, Woman Representatives Catherine Waruguru (Laikipia), Ann Ngirici (Kirinyaga), Sabina Chege (Murang’a), Janet Nangambo (Trans Nzoia), Senator Mithika Linturi (Meru); MPs David Gikaria (Nakuru Town East), Silvanus Osoro (South Mugirango), Richard Tong’i (Nyaribari Chache), Joash Nyamoko (North Mugirango), John Waluke (Sirisia), Mululu Ijendi (Malava) and Emanuel Wangwe (Navakholo). Mathira MP, Rigathi Gachagua oversaw the signing of the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *