FIFA release 2018 World XI, Lukaku and Hazard in as Arsenal miss out

Image result for fifa world xi

The much-awaited shortlist for the 2018 FIFA World XI is finally out as Fifpro release the 55 man list that will be competing for the 11 slots that will consist of one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.

Liverpool duo Sadio Mane and Mohammed Salah are the only two Africans who made it into the shortlist. Following a torrid season that saw them finish sixth and miss out on every trophy, Arsenal had no single player nominated for the FIFA World XI. Lukaku who had a good performance in the 2018 FIFA World Cup has been included in the list as World Cup winner Ngolo Kante also makes the cut.

Having won three consecutive UEFA Champions League titles Real Madrid was the most-represented club side, seeing a full 11 players on the list.

Image result for fifa world xi

Full 55 man shortlist

Goalkeepers (5):

Gianluigi Buffon – Italy, Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain

Thibaut Courtois – Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid CF

David de Gea – Spain, Manchester United FC

Keylor Navas – Costa Rica, Real Madrid CF

Marc-Andre ter Stegen – Germany, FC Barcelona


Defenders (20):

Jordi Alba – Spain, FC Barcelona

Dani Alves – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain

Daniel Carvajal – Spain, Real Madrid CF

Giorgio Chiellini – Italy, Juventus FC

Virgil van Dijk – The Netherlands, Southampton/Liverpool

Diego Godin – Uruguay, Atletico Madrid

Mats Hummels – Germany, FC Bayern Munchen

Joshua Kimmich – Germany, FC Bayern Munchen

Dejan Lovren – Croatia, Liverpool FC

Marcelo – Brazil, Real Madrid CF

Yerry Mina – Colombia, FC Barcelona/Everton FC

Benjamin Pavard – France, VfB Stuttgart

Gerard Pique – Spain, FC Barcelona

Sergio Ramos – Spain, Real Madrid CF

Thiago Silva – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain

Kieran Trippier – England, Tottenham Hotspur

Samuel Umtiti – France, FC Barcelona

Raphael Varane – France, Real Madrid CF

Sime Vrsaljko – Croatia, Atletico Madrid/Inter Milan

Kyle Walker – England, Manchester City FC


Midfielders (15):

Sergio Busquets – Spain, FC Barcelona

Casemiro – Brazil, Real Madrid CF

Philippe Coutinho – Brazil, Liverpool/FC Barcelona

Kevin De Bruyne – Belgium, Manchester City FC

Eden Hazard – Belgium, Chelsea FC

Andres Iniesta – Spain, FC Barcelona/Vissel Kobe

Isco – Spain, Real Madrid CF

N’Golo Kante – France, Chelsea FC

Toni Kroos – Germany, Real Madrid CF

Nemanja Matic – Serbia, Manchester United FC

Luka Modric – Croatia, Real Madrid CF

Paul Pogba – France, Manchester United FC

Ivan Rakitic – Croatia, FC Barcelona

David Silva – Spain, Manchester City FC

Arturo Vidal – Chile, FC Bayern Munchen/FC Barcelona


Forwards (15)

Karim Benzema – France, Real Madrid CF

Edinson Cavani – Uruguay, Paris Saint-Germain

Paulo Dybala – Juventus FC, Argentina

Antoine Griezmann – France, Atletico Madrid

Harry Kane – England, Tottenham Hotspur

Robert Lewandowski – Poland, FC Bayern Munchen

Romelu Lukaku – Belgium, Manchester United FC

Mario Mandzukic – Croatia, Juventus FC

Sadio Mane – Senegal, Liverpool FC

Kylian Mbappe – France, Paris Saint-Germain

Lionel Messi – Argentina, FC Barcelona

Neymar Junior – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain

Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal, Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC

Mohamed Salah – Egypt, Liverpool FC

Luis Suarez – Uruguay, FC Barcelona

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *